Massive BJP Surge Stuns KCR’s Party In Hyderabad Local Polls

GHMC Election Results 2020: The TRS won 55 of the 150 wards into the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation election while the BJP got 48 wards and the AIMIM of Asaduddin Owaisi secured 44.


Telangana’s ruling TRS party emerged whilst the party that is largest as votes were counted on Friday within the high-stakes Hyderabad municipal election, but its victory had been dimmed by the BJP’s massive surge after an exceptionally high-voltage and divisive contest. The BJP, which mounted a campaign that was unusually aggressive for almost any election that is regional has taken second spot in an in depth fight with the AIMIM of Asaduddin Owaisi.

The TRS won 55 of the 150 wards within the Greater Hyderabad Corporation that is municipal( election whilst the BJP got 48 wards plus the AIMIM of Asaduddin Owaisi secured 44. The Congress could win only two wards. Counting of votes needed to be stopped in one ward – Neredmet – following a court order that is high. The TRS scored 99 seats, the AIMIM 44 and the BJP 4 within the previous election.

The TRS or Telangana Rashtra Samithi of Chief Minister K Chandrasekhara Rao saw an over 40 per cent fall in its tally from the 2016 polls. The BJP, with nothing to lose, made big gains at the expense of the party that is ruling a area where it absolutely was almost non-existent therefore far. These results mark a huge leap in their plans for the 2023 Telangana election, which they state would have been a right fight between the TRS and the BJP, with the Congress hardly a player for the BJP.

“The result is not that which we expected. We fell short by 20-25 seats than our objectives. 10-12 seats saw a margin of less than 200 votes. You’ll find nothing to be disappointed, we are single party that is largest,” said Telangana minister KT Rama Rao or KTR, the Chief Minister’s son.

BJP President JP Nadda said, ” the social individuals of Hyderabad have actually managed to make it clear what could be the outcomes of the Telangana assembly elections (2023). I’m able to state with confidence that people of Telangana are determined to bid farewell to the corrupt KCR government.”

A campaign that is profoundly polarising time by most parties focused more on Pakistan, Mohammad Ali Jinnah and whether Hyderabad desires its title changed to Bhagyanagar than civic matters like roads, sanitation and water supply.

The BJP raised the stakes in the civic polls as a result of its success within the by-election that is recent the Dubbak assembly constituency. The party flew in national leaders like Amit Shah, JP Nadda, Yogi Adityanath, Prakash Javadekar and Smriti Irani, hoping to convince Hyderabad that the modification was required, then certainly into the 2023 state polls if not now.

The BJP’s Tejasvi Surya, the Bangalore South MP, was widely criticised for his remarks which are provocative taking in the TRS and Asaduddin Owaisi.

BJP’s Telangana president and MP Bandi Sanjay Kumar controversially said their celebration would conduct a “surgical attack” in the old city, if necessary, to send away the Rohingya and Pakistanis.

KTR, whom led the TRS campaign, sought to strike an chord that is emotional the individuals, appealing for them to “save the city from divisive forces”, hinting at the BJP.

The BJP’s electoral gains came from the flood-hit parts of Hyderabad where there ended up being anger that is public the state over the alleged mishandling of flood relief. The BJP additionally reached out to those who felt disenchanted by the TRS, such as the Reddy community, the settler populace that is alleged.

The GHMC was formed in April 2007 by merging 12 municipalities and eight gram panchayats utilizing the Corporation that is municipal of (MCH). Four districts fall within GHMC limits, including Hyderabad, Ranga Reddy, Medchal-Malkajgiri and Sangareddy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *